Ask a question or
Order this book

Browse our books
Search our books
Book dealer info

Title: III Quatuors pour deux violons, alto , et violoncelle composés par Mr. WENT. Oeuvre 1r. ( the four parts).
Description: Offenbach sur le Mein chez J. André et aux adresses ordinaires, s.d. (1790), 4 parts (Violino Primo 15 pp, Violino Secondo 13 pp, Viola 11 pp, Violoncello 11 pp), plate number 410. Each part bound in contemporary marbled boards , each with a titlepage consisting of a small engraved title vignette. Finely preserved complete score ( for the four instruments) of the first opus , in first edition , of Johann Wenth (1745 - 1801). The composer was born in Divice (Middle Bohemia). He fled to Vienna and became a musician in the service of Fürst Schwarzenberg. He is chiefly remembered for his oboe and clarinet compositions and as such inspired Beethoven, who composed his trio, opus 87, after hearing a Wenth composition in 1793 (see Thayer, Beethoven). Very rare, only one copy in Worldcat (July 2009) at Ann Arbor (USA). .


Price: EUR 425.00 = appr. US$ 461.91 Seller: Antiquariaat Wim de Goeij
- Book number: 36166